How Am I Doing – Week 9


Wow, is it really only 9 weeks or should I say is it really 9 weeks? So, fluctuating but almost stable weight – that’s not what I’m looking for! I had hoped to have lost loads of weight this week (at least 1kg) but that will only work if I follow the rules 😦 Weight – 107.2

Stability is good in most areas, but not when looking for weight-loss. As you can probably tell, I’ve had a really bad week; too much stress, not enough food – average 1000 kcals again, bad, bad week of missing meals – again, not enough sleep – too many nights of only getting between 2 and 4 hours! There’s a lot going on in my life right now, it’s all a bit secret at the moment, but hopefully it will all be resolved soon. I am also very, very busy with work, that adds to the stress and the lack of sleep and seriously interferes with my food intake. I have learnt to eat lunch during the day – that may seem strange to say, but I never used to eat in front of people; I hated to eat in public and with the gastric band it was virtually impossible anyway. It used to take me an hour to eat my food and that was just a tin of tuna with mayo and 50g of red peppers. So, can you imagine eating a full meal in public? That’s why I didn’t eat during the day. So now I do eat, and I actually take a lunch break at work too, that and breakfast have been the only meals I have been eating all week though and even that hasn’t been consistent! I have not arrived home until late every day and when I arrived home I was far too tired to cook or even eat anything. The joys of a busy job where you drive for at least 6 hours a day, then have to put in a full day’s consultancy that can often be quite taxing mentally. I haven’t had any exercise either.

What does all that mean for the basics?

  • Not over exercising – check – but not enough either
  • Taking my supplements as recommended – check
  • Not STRESSING – fail
  • Not over analysing – fail
  • Eating my correct macros – fail
  • Eating my full Kcals – fail
  • Sleeping 7 – 8 hours per night – fail

All that buggers up weight-loss, messes around with my metabolism, bodily functions and yup even my good mood has gone!

I could say I should put that down to experience and take it as a SUMO moment – Shut Up and Move On, but I don’t seem to ever learn as was pointed out in no uncertain terms yesterday by both Martin and Andy.

Andy is on a mission to get my strength back to where it was pre-op and pre Martin all but banning exercise (ban has been lifted, but restriction on time remains) and also to make me ache, I think that after today he WILL achieve that goal 🙂

Martin has given me new ORDERS – he said I have to remove the thinking from my plan, that means that I have to eat the same thing every day at the same time (where possible on the time) during the week. That means, that I can cook all my dinners and freeze/refrigerate them and just re-heat them when I get home – ergo NO EXCUSES. At the weekend, I can have what I want – within my plan of course. This week I’m having lasagne and salad. Lasagne without the pasta! I’m gonna replace the pasta sheets with aubergines. I’m not sure if I’m really going to like it that much, I didn’t like aubergines – but that was years ago and my tastes do seem to have changed in this last couple of years. I also have to make a bechamel sauce without flour – there’s a challenge, but I have a secret weapon…. my friends are coming to stay tonight and he’s a chef… looks like I may have some help with making this low carb lasagne. That gives me another challenge though – alcohol, I guess I’ll be watching them drink whilst I stick to my beloved water. I had a bad enough week last week – I really won’t compound it with alcohol today. I will not suffer from the Monday Mentality, we will be discussing our up coming holiday though…that should lift my spirits and spur me on to great heights and good weight-loss 🙂

And now for some over-analysis – but in a good learning way I think…..

I only seem to have good weeks when I plan properly, week commencing 13 Feb was a good week and I spent most of Sunday planning my menus and training for the week.

13 feb macro calccs

The attached file is my planning for the last good week I had. The daily menus are for way back in January. I only update those when Martin wants to see it in excel rather than logging into MyNetDiary.

Well, I have to prepare the house ready for our Residents Association Meeting this afternoon – good excuse to catch up with everyone, bit of a squeeze to get 25 seats in my lounge, but we manage! Then for the onslaught of my friends…. I am so looking forward to seeing them though, it’s rare for them to get off their island and into the real world haha, they live on the Isle of White…

This week, I’m going to prepare properly, in fact already have my weekly menu agreed with Martin, so check on that one, I have my training schedule planned with Andy so check on that one and I have my daily walks planned and they DON’T include going to the shop everyday – slightly longer and more taxing walks – but don’t tell Martin eh…. I should get the walk down to 30 mins by the end of the week without jogging – I don’t do that.. I will try to add a mid-week catch up for two reasons, 1) to keep you informed of my progress; am I on track for the basics and b) to keep me on track for the basics 🙂

Have a wicked Sunday in this lovely sunny weather, sleep well, train hard and stick to your nutritional plans – catch up soon…

About Lian Munday

My journey from having a gastric band to actually losing weight in a healthy controlled way with the help and support of Martin MacDonald, Mac-Nutrition, my Nutritionist and Andy Angell, my Personal Trainer. Please join us on our journey.
This entry was posted in Gastrc Band, General Stuff, Weekly Weigh In, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

