How Am I Doing – Week 8


How am I doing – well last week I weighed in at 107.9 today 107.2, still going the right way, but seriously slowly, but I guess that’s about a pound and that’s what the right way to lose weight and keep it off, I refer you to my blog;  Why Losing Weight Slowly is Good . Therefore, as much as it pains me to say so, it is good and I will persevere to keep up this momentum.

Did Martin arrive to open my olives last night (not the only reason for the visit)?  Of course he did, he also said that I need to start to really work on the strength in my hands and forearms – it didn’t look that easy for him to open either, actually, yeah, it did, it just wasn’t instant!  I have bought a powerspin, the next generation powerball to aid in the lower arm and hand strength.  However, with my current injury I am finding it difficult to work on my left side and I don’t want to be lopsided, so I’m gonna wait until it’s a bit better.  I have some exercises to help with my injury too – pain-free movement type stuff, that’s the kind of exercise you do actually aid in the healing process rather than mask the injury.

On the training thing, I think I have said in the past that I don’t really suffer from DOMS – (delayed onset muscle soreness) I did discuss this with Andy yesterday too and then with Martin last night.  I told Martin that Andy tried to kill me and he said ‘GOOD, about time too’.  I don’t think anyone can make me ache after a session though, so I laid down the gauntlet with ….. ‘I don’t think even YOU could make me ache after a session’…. let’s see if he picks it up eh – you up for the challenge Martin?  😉

My sessions in the gym are definitely getting harder.  I have not been allowed to do too much for many months now, since Martin all but banned exercise and certainly with weights, then with my operation ensuring that I couldn’t lift heavy weights in I case I herniated the incisions – lovely thought, compounded with my snow ballet.  However, today we really ramped it up a notch.  Clean & press back to 30kg, deadlifts back to 42kg swiftly followed by bench press with the same 42kg barbel, plus lots of steps and squats and a full on boxing circuit too – I do love the boxing and it is harder in a different way to the heavier weights.  Although I think the weights are heavy, I am mindful of Martin’s comments pre-Christmas when I asked him if he was impressed that I could now bench 50kg and he said ‘NO’, ‘but you were really rubbish to begin with, so I guess it’s progress’…. yeah, thanks mate!  I don’t think I’ll even mention it again until I can bench at least 75kg or clean & press 50 kg.

Well, enough rambling from me today, onwards and downwards (weight that is). 

Catch up later, train hard and stick to your nutrition plans 🙂

About Lian Munday

My journey from having a gastric band to actually losing weight in a healthy controlled way with the help and support of Martin MacDonald, Mac-Nutrition, my Nutritionist and Andy Angell, my Personal Trainer. Please join us on our journey.
This entry was posted in Macronutrients, Weekly Weigh In, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

