How Am I Doing – Week 5


Well, things seem to be pretty static at the moment! 

Last week 108.6 today 108.7 – not smiling 😦

I guess Martin is of the same opinion, but we don’t actually discuss my weight very often only when there’s good news, more my nutrition and other ‘stuff’…

This weekend it’s all been about cortisol levels – they really are screwing me over! But we have a plan….

Firstly, if you recall my last actual weight loss was a Christmas when I spent most of the time sitting on my ass writing my blog and then I undid all the good work by going to the gym every day for at least an hour each session..

Well, this week, I’m working from home so I can control what I eat and I’m really not expending any energy.  Let’s see what that does for the weight next week eh?!  Anyway we have another plan or, should I say Martin does;

Supplements

  • Fish oil 2 x 2 daily with food
  • XL Prep x 9 daily (varying frequency dep on training?) 3 x 3 on non training days and 3 in morning followed by 6 post training on training days
  • Vitamin C x 1g per day, I usually have at breakfast to wash down the rest of the supplements
  • Magnesium 1.5g x 2 daily (first one mixed with the Vitamin C)
  • Phosphatidlserine 1 daily
  • Vitamin D3 5000iu x 2 daily when I take the Fish oil
  • Multi – vitamin x 1 in the morning

So what do they all do;

  • Fish oil – Anti inflammatory, good for cognitive function, joint health, blood pressure and possibly even fat loss, it’s also good for keeping the skin looking younger
  • XL Prep– Designed to increase performance pre training and aid with recovery post training – ingredients and benefits:
      • Beta Alanine – increases time to fatigue and ability to maintain high intensity exercise
      • Co Enzyme Q10 – an antioxidant which also reduces the markers of stress post exercise, allowing adaptation to take place that increase time to exhaustion during exercise
      • Rhodiol Rosea – has been shown to increase physical working capacity by increase ATP content in skeletal muscle increasing endurance exercise capacity
      • L-Carnite L-Tartrate, has been shown to increase aerobic and anaerobic exercise performance as well as helping to regulate androgen receptor density thus increasing androgenic profile – I guess you want that translating eh?  Well, you asked for it;
        • Carnitine is responsible for transferring fatty acids across cell membranes to the mitochondria, which in turn uses the fat as a primary source of energy.  For that reason, it’s been concluded that supplementing with carnitine may help ensure the fatty acids are burned (oxidized) as fuel.  It may also increase the ratio of fat to muscle loss, thus preserving muscle mass while increasing the rate fat is burned.
  • Vitamin C – benefits the immune system and is necessary for collagen, the main structural protein found in connective tissue.  It’s an antioxidant, it helps with hypertension (can lower blood pressure) helps with good dilatation of blood vessels which will in turn aid with high cholesterol, congestive heart failure and so on.  Can also help to prevent cataracts – never heard that one before, but pretty impressive.
  • Magnesium Citrate – encourages the formation of healthy bones – but better than that; it improves moods and energy levels, reduces stress, fights fatigue and apparently WILL improve sleep – here’s looking at 8 hours then…
  • Phosphatidlserine Serine – strengthen your memory, increase vigilance and attention, boost learning, increase mental acuity, intensify your concentration, relieve depression and improve mood, inhibit exercise and stress induced increases in cortisol, decrease stress—whether you are young or old. (Cortisol inhibitor/blocker then)
  • Vitamin D3 – vitamin D deficiency has been associated with an increased risk of type I diabetes, multiple sclerosis, rheumatoid arthritis, hypertension, cardiovascular heart disease and cancer (Supplements 101 – Martin MacDonald)
  • Multi Vitamin – too many things to list in this one, but the multi vitamin I take is a slow release version, so it releases its nutrients over a 6 hour period

The magnesium tastes quite disgusting – but gotta be done – if it don’t kill ya, it’ll cure ya, or at least that’s the hope.

Also, Martin has re-introduced the post training recovery shake, this consists of 30 g whey protein and 20 g of dextrose + an apple about 100 g. 

This is the surprising thing – when you eat sugar and dextrose is in the sugar family, you normally produce loads of extra cortisol – that’s my nemesis, however, when you take dextrose which is a high GI carbohydrate WITH protein post training, it actually acts to combat the already over-production of cortisol which your body naturally produces during training.  Make sense – no me neither.  Martin’s just in the throes of writing another article on this same subject as we speak; I’ll share the highlights with you when he posts it, if I can understand it enough to translate it 🙂

So, my calories and macronutrients are as follows

Training days

  • kcals  1500
  • FAT    91
  • CHO   47
  • PRO   132

 Non training days

  • kcals   1300
  • FAT     91
  • CHO    20
  • PRO     101

The reason for the increase in everything on training days is to replace the energy I expend during training.  I am still limited to 30 minute sessions and I do take an extra 2.5 mins to warm up on the x-trainer first, I would love to warm up for 15 mins, but that eats into my 30 mins and I can’t get away with adding it on.  However, more happy tidings, Martin has agreed after much begging and pleading and promising to follow his instructions with regard to the above macros and kcals to allow me to do an extra 30 min session per week – YAY… He also said that next week he’s going to introduce an additional 15 minute brisk walk on 3 of the 4 non training days before 1 meal.  15 mins will be a bit tricky though – my usual brisk walk takes me 25 mins – I wonder….??? Not gonna push it today though, I’ll wait until next weekend when we discuss this 😉

Oh yeah, almost forgetting, I can only do the additional training if I promise to sleep for at least 7 hours per night ideally 8.  Yeah, certainly gonna try to do that, if I don’t I won’t be able to do the additional training and I do generally obey his instructions – not much point working with him if I don’t!

So, that’s enough for today – I’ll keep you posted if the magnesium helps me sleep longer and better, apparently it’s supposed to be instant – I’m still awake haha…

Oh yeah, check the recipe page at the top of the page for a wicked home-made version of a soft tortilla wrap with NO FLOUR!! pictures too.. 🙂  and Thanks to very kind commenter for the recipe

About Lian Munday

My journey from having a gastric band to actually losing weight in a healthy controlled way with the help and support of Martin MacDonald, Mac-Nutrition, my Nutritionist and Andy Angell, my Personal Trainer. Please join us on our journey.
This entry was posted in General Stuff, Weekly Weigh In and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

