Martin MacDonald – I would love him to be WRONG just once….


Well, not such a good day today.  I weigh myself daily, take a photograph and email the photo to Martin.  This happens everyday without fail, well, unless I’m working away and I’m actually flying, if however I’m working away and I’m driving, I have to take my bathroom scales with me so I can continue the ritual.  I know it was only 7 days ago that I posted my happy results that I had lost 3 lb over Christmas; I was expecting it to continue in the same vien.  Unfortunately, that isn’t the case.  I have actually gained weight this week.
The reason for the title of this blog is this;

Martin and I had lunch just before Christmas, the day before I went into hospital to have that stupid life-sapping gastric band removed and during lunch, we discussed the fact that I wouldn’t be able to go to the gym for at least 10 days.  Martin was happy with that and said ‘now watch the weight start to come down’.  

The reason for this comment and I am paraphrasing here…. I am metobolically resistant, what that means is that my body has an inability to burn fat.  I will ask Martin if he can write something himself to explain this properly and what the effects are, I didn’t take any notes, I was busy cooking lunch (sea bass with sizzled ginger and chilli – I’ll post the recipe next week).  So, basically, my body may be over producing a hormone called cortisol. 

A bit of science – (http://stress.about.com/od/stresshealth/a/cortisol.htm ) This is where I got the info from should you wish to read the unabridged version.

Cortisol is produced by the adrenal gland and although it isn’t only produced during times of stress, it has been dubbed ‘the stress hormone’, because it’s also produced in higher quanities during times of stress.  It is also responsible for many stress-related changes in the body.  Small increases of cortisol have some positive effects:

  • A quick burst of energy for survival reasons
  • Heightened memory functions
  • A burst of increased immunity
  • Lower sensitivity to pain

So, that’s it for the good stuff, then on to the bad stuff from over production of cortisol:

  • Impaired cognitive performance
  • Suppressed thyroid function
  • Blood sugar imbalances such as hyperglycemia
  • Decreased bone density
  • Decrease in muscle tissue
  • Higher blood pressure
  • Lowered immunity and inflammatory responses in the body,
  • slowed wound healing, and other health consequences
  • Increased abdominal fat, which is associated with a greater amount of health problems than fat deposited in other areas of the body. Some of the health problems associated with increased stomach fat are heart attacks, strokes, metobolic syndome, higher levels of “bad” cholesterol (LDL) and lower levels of “good” cholesterol (HDL), which can lead to other health problems!
  • Can lead to / increase depression

Stressors that stimulate the over production of cortisol are not only from the ‘fight or flight’ kind of stress, but also the additional stress put on the body by (and these are my main stressors) 

  • Lack of / poor sleep habits
  • Stupidly poor diet – very low calorie
  • Over work – too much traveling
  • Over study
  • General daily stress (illness etc)
  • and the reason for this post OVER TRAINING


So, the over training bit – I have been to the gym every day since the 27th of December with the exception of 1st of Jan (it was closed), but when the horrendous rain stopped I went for a power walk around the village instead.  Whilst partaking in my increased activity, which may I say goes against Martin’s instructions as does power walking, it’s only supposed to be a stroll.  I have increased the stress levels in my body again.  I had a couple of days where I did nothing, after the op, the weight started to come down.  Then I decided that I needed to get back to the gym to aid my recovery but took the road to recovery too damned far, as usual – and look what happens, the weight starts to go back up again. 


All this culminated in me sending my usual photo to Martin this morning telling him that I am not going to the gym until Saturday because I have gone up from 7.6 kg to 8.4 kg today, that’s almost 1 kg!!  That elicited an I told you so kind of reply, serves me right.  Now I have to quit for a few days I am really suffering from withdrawal symptoms, it actually felt as bad as when I stopped smoking many years ago – even more stress – muppet. 

I must admit, the training thing is the one area that I still really fight against, he says no CV, I whinge until he says OK, he now says ‘NO WEIGHTS’ so I over do the cv in compensation!  This just goes to prove that I really shouldn’t ignore ANY of his advice – I have never known him to be wrong in anything he has ever said.  Actually, at one point he predicted that I would lose 3 kg in just over a week – so I said, if I do, I’ll give you my house!!!!  Idiot, I should have learnt then, I nearly had to ask him if I could live my garage, but I only lost 2.8 kg haha, what a relief that was….

So, no gym until Saturday, I met with Andy today to discuss the way forward.  We have come up with a plan that seriously decreases my gym time until the end of February.  I guess I’ll be writing lots then 🙂  I have Martin’s agreement for this new plan, 2 x 30 minute sessions per week in the gym and absolutely NOTHING ELSE!  I honestly don’t know at this point if I can stick to that – I do have a bit of an obsession with everything training.  But, if I want this to work, I really need to adhere to Martin’s rules.  Wish me luck eh???!!


Any suggestions or requests on anything you may want to read, please leave me a comment.

About Lian Munday

My journey from having a gastric band to actually losing weight in a healthy controlled way with the help and support of Martin MacDonald, Mac-Nutrition, my Nutritionist and Andy Angell, my Personal Trainer. Please join us on our journey.
This entry was posted in General Stuff, Weekly Weigh In, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Martin MacDonald – I would love him to be WRONG just once….

  1. Pingback: The Long Road to Cornwall & the BAD, BAD Food…. | From Gastric Band to Fitness

Leave a Reply

