How Did I End up Like This????


As this is a University weekend, I spent the weekend with some like-minded idiots haha….  We are in a similar position in life; where we are in our respective careers and surprisingly enough, in our everyday lives.  Is it surprising how so many like-minded people end up on the same course or in the same room for whatever reason….?

Anyway, our conversation inevitably turns to ‘the man in the fridge’  aka Martin MacDonald.  The reason for this name for him with my friends at University is because of his thing of checking what you have in the house and getting rid of all the contraband at the beginning of your journey.  If it isn’t in the house, there’s less risk of you slipping from the path of righteousness. 

The conversation took a surprising turn this evening; most people will take you at your current position, ‘I am metabolically resisitant’ or ‘I have metabolic syndrome’ with all the reasons and explanations for where you are and how you are going to get to where you need to be and how Martin proved this.  However, for the first time in a long time one of my friends challenged my ‘current state’ and my ‘future state’ – directly linking this to our field of study…. how refreshing and cathartic was that?

Was I born this way?  – NO

Did I always eat the way the guys have noticed I eat – basically pick at my food but; lord I can drink….  NO to the eating, but YES I have always been able to drink….we generally have 2 bottles of wine between 5 of us (about 2 glasses of wine each) and tonight was no exception – cheat night 😉

 So, did I always eat this way – no, there’s only one way you get fat – eating too much of the wrong foods (none of this kcals in v kcals out crap – another blog for this later), we spent time analysing how I came to be where I am now; it focuses your own mind when you discuss in real detail with no dissembling how you came to be the way you are.  It’s unfortunate that I went so damned far that I basically broke my metabolism and now am really, really struggling to lose the weight I gained.  And I thought I was doing well at not eating, but not recognising that although I wasn’t eating loads of food, I also wasn’t losing weight.  When I did recognise it, I ate rubbish again for a couple of weeks, then went on yet another diet, only this time even more restrictive than the last – this is A typical yoyo dieting, unfortunately, the yoyo effect for me wasn’t the losing weight and putting it back on again, it was more like yoyo between different diets without the value add of weight loss in between.  The inability to lose the weight actually makes people disbelieve that you are even trying.  The lack of belief ends up in a downward spiral that exacerbates the depression and eventually drags you off the  merry-go-round of diets and back into the ‘I don’t care, I’ll eat chips and rubbish’ mentality.  This was the deciding factor of having the gastric band fitted.  However, when that too didn’t work I realised that I needed a different kind of help.  I didn’t think for one moment that I would have a real problem, I seriously thought it was something that I was doing and that I really needed help with my nutritional choices.  Enter Mac-Nutrition and Martin MacDonald….

I do not intend to go over the stuff I have already written on my ‘About Lian’ page, but I have NEVER really addressed this important stuff and I think it’s high time I recognised it NOW before I continue on my path. 

So, I guess this is me standing up and saying ‘Hello, I’m Lian, and I’m a fat b****** …. haha, I would say this is the first step along my 12 steps or whatever they have at AA. unfortunately, this is my god only knows what step along the path of Nutritional Health….

It transpired that yes, I did need help with my nutritional choices.  I think by far the worst of the problems is the fact that I have buggered up my metabolism; if it was just the case that I was eating the wrong rubbish and was finding it difficult to contain my eating habits, that would be easy for Martin to combat.  However, the fact that I have done some real damage to my physiology is harder for him to fix.  He did originally wonder if maybe I had affected my thyroid with my stupidity, but the test results are in now and I am squarely in the mid range of the base line for thyroid function.  Ergo, I have no thyroid dysfunction…..this can only be seen as a good thing.  If I don’t have a medical issue then it’s all down to metabolism – this can be dealt with by nutrition alone – over to you then Martin….I’m due t catch up with him tomorrow to discuss the results of the bloods and what this means to us and our nutritional plan and my training

So, topics coming to a screen near you soon….

  • nutritional strategies for combatting MR
  • Why women need fat in their diet
  • A critique of some of the internet diet tools out there. etc.,
  • The Kcals in V Kcals out myth…

If you have an area of interest that you would like me to research, please leave a comment or send me an email – details on my contact page.

Any additional topics you are interested in please ask, i.e. ‘How do you get type 2 diabetes?’

About Lian Munday

My journey from having a gastric band to actually losing weight in a healthy controlled way with the help and support of Martin MacDonald, Mac-Nutrition, my Nutritionist and Andy Angell, my Personal Trainer. Please join us on our journey.
This entry was posted in General Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How Did I End up Like This????

  1. Just wanted to post and say nice blog, great to read from people with a clue.

  2. I have a overuse injury in this specific topic. If someone will help me personally and then make sure you contact us at the handle zajesuka@harvard.edu. Thank you and best respect

    • Lian Munday says:

      Hi,
      You say you have ‘an overuse injury in this specific topic’ what do you mean by that and how can I, Martin or Andy be of assistance?

      We would be only too happy to help if we can
      Lian

Leave a Reply

