Do You Have the Monday Mentality?


Silly question for someone like me or indeed any of my family – Lian MUNDAY  haha, nice play on words for this time of the morning – or is that a throw back to the school playground???

Anyway, The Monday Mentality…..this can also be attributed to the 1st of January and is basically ‘Nutrition Plan Procrastination’.

I will ALWAYS use the term Nutrition Plan or Plan because as Martin has taught me DIET is BAD, Diet is something that can’t be sustained and we need to concentrate on a ‘Plan for Life’.

So, why am I writing this now?  I asked a couple of my friends and family to proof read my ‘Martin MacDonald’s 10 Rules…’, as with any piece of work I pen, I always get it proof read, I never see my own mistakes and although it was ALL Martin’s work, I did actually re-type it.  Well, I received comments like – ‘I’ll read it on January 1st, because until then I’m not even thinking of being healthy and it’ll only make me feel guilty’….. Martin said – ‘looks fine’, that’s all I really needed to be honest after all, it is his work I’m copying 🙂

The comments spurred me on to write this little missive though.  So, do you have the Monday Mentality? 

When you slip on your nutrition plan on a day, do you say, ‘sod it, I’ve blown it for today, I may as well eat what I want and start again tomorrow?’  Yeah, sound familiar? Does that then lead to ‘I’ll start again on MONDAY’ and more often than not ends up being put off until 1st January?? 

I am so guilty of that, even now working with Martin and Andy.  I don’t often eat things I shouldn’t now (more like DRINK stuff), not that I don’t though, but I always ‘fess up’ and tell Martin, he is sooo good at the guilt trips I can tell you.  I feel guilty if I don’t confess and I feel guilty if I do! 

Yesterday I had every intention of getting straight back on my plan, so I started really well, scrambled eggs with mushrooms cooked in butter for breakfast, tuna with homemade mayo and diced red pepper for lunch, then my sister arrived unexpectedly because she missed us and she brought a Heston Chocolate Bouche, so I had to have some of that, that was me off the plan for the day – or was it….., yes, actually it was.   My slippages are not necessarily that I then go on to eat whatever I like, for me it’s more like I don’t eat the stuff I’m supposed to eat.  So Martin’s Rule 6, Never Eat Less than your BMR…. I already eat less kcals than I should (much to his chagrin), but I still managed to eat 1309 kcals, just that it was ALL bad kcals, I would have been better to still eat the proper food too!  (That was my confession)

So, when you do ‘slip off the wagon’, just get straight back on, don’t put it off till tomorrow, Monday, the beginning of the month or even 1st of January.  Just treat it like a SUMO moment, as in – Shut Up, Move On!  Get it, keep right on going, that’s the only way to make the right changes in your lifestyle to ensure you achieve your goals.  Slippage will happen, after all we’re only human, but it doesn’t have to be a plan breaker.

That brings me to one final point – at the end of the festivities, when it’s time to go back to work and get back into the normal swing of life – throw out all the ‘contraband’ that’s left over from Christmas, that’s all the mince pies, chocolates, biscuits, alcohol – whatever.  If it isn’t in your plan – dump it, even better – donate it to the nearest homeless shelter where it can do some good, because it aint gonna do you any good!

Don’t let the Monday Mentality getchya……!!!

I’d be interested to hear your strategies for avoidance of the Monday Mentality, please leave a comment..

About Lian Munday

My journey from having a gastric band to actually losing weight in a healthy controlled way with the help and support of Martin MacDonald, Mac-Nutrition, my Nutritionist and Andy Angell, my Personal Trainer. Please join us on our journey.
This entry was posted in General Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

